Justice G.D. Kamat Memorial National Moot Court Competition 2023

The Moot Court Society of Devi Sharvani Education Society’s V.M.Salgaocar College of Law is hosting a National Moot Court Competition from 27th to 29th January 2023, in association with Justice G.D. Kamat Charitable Trust. The National Moot Court Competition is being held in memory of the Late Justice G.D. Kamat. Late Justice G.D. Kamat was the first Goan Judge to be elevated to the position of the Chief Justice of the High Court. He was also Vice-Chairman of the managing committee of the college and was instrumental in building the Institution since its inception.

The competition was announced in the first week of November 2022, and has received overwhelming participation from prestigious and ranked law colleges and universities across India. The competition will witness 26 prestigious law Institutions from the country competing for the trophy. The winner and runner-up of the Competition will be awarded a cash prize of Rs. 50,000/-and Rs.25,000/- respectively along with trophies and merit certificates. The other prizes are for Best Mooter (Student advocate), Best Researcher, and Best Memorial.

The competition is held with the objective of developing the advocacy skills of the students. The Moot Court effectively addresses several skills that a lawyer needs. It can effectively impart orals skills like arguments, and answering questions, and improve soft skills required for public speaking. In addition, it also addresses the skills of research, reasoning, application of legal principles to factual situations, and drafting skills. On the whole, the Moot Court Competition helps in the holistic growth of the student as a competent lawyer.

The competition will be inaugurated by the Governor of Goa, P.S. Sreedharan Pillai, on 27th January 2023. The preliminary rounds and quarter-finals will be held on 28th January 2023, while the semi-finals and final rounds will be held on 29th January 2023. Advocates will judge the competition and the final round of the competition will be judged by the sitting judges of the Bombay High Court, Justice Mahesh S. Sonak, Justice Valmiki Sa Menezes, and Former Chief Justice of the Allahabad High Court, Justice Ferdino Inacio Rebello.

The Valedictory Ceremony will be held on 29th January, at Panjim Gymkhana.

Mobile Ad 1

Mobile Ad 2